backBack to Ligniculture in Quebec

Poplar

The program of genetic improvement of poplars began in Quebec in 1969. The program was initiated by Gilles Vallée of the tree improvement service within the Quebec Ministry of Energy and Resources. In the beginning, the project introduced species and hybrids obtained from elsewhere as well as a selection of local trees or natural hybrids. The research consisted of comparative tests of provenance, descendances and clones which were carried out at numerous research centres across Quebec. The goal of these tests was to find clones and lines of rapid-growth poplars having a certain resistance to pathogens and insects which were adapted to different ecological conditions of Quebec (Vallée, 1985).

The first programs of hybridisation quickly produced genetic material which performed better and was much better adapted to local conditions. These programs have continued to develop and they now include numerous aspects of the growth of poplars. It is relatively easy to obtain poplar hybrids and particularly easy to achieve multiplication in propagation by cuttings, which makes it an ideal tree species for genetic improvement, cloning, molecular genetics and biotechnology (Périnet, 1999).

In Quebec, the poplar is now a species valued by the forest industry and represents a new source of wood supply. The forest industry uses poplar wood to make pulp and paper, particle board, laminated beam , plywood and lumber for a variety of uses. Poplar stands are increasingly common and it is very probable that within the near future the industry will find increased uses. Wood from plantations of hybrid poplar will complete the production from natural stands (Vallée et al., 1997).

The program of genetic improvement of poplars is run by a team under the Direction of Forestry Research (DFR) of Forest Quebec. This program has produced improved populations from five principal parent species :

  • Populus balsamifera
  • P. deltoides
  • P. maximowiczii
  • P. nigra
  • P. trichocarpa

Throughout the years DFR researchers have created an important system of experimental plantations. These plantations are dispersed throughout numerous ecological sub-regions of Quebec. To date the DFR has produced an increased number of hybrid poplar clones which are recommended for more than 40 ecological sub-regions in Quebec. As well, this list of 44 clones covers bioclimate zones 1 to 5, from maple stands to fir to white birch (Périnet et al. 2001). These clones are being produced in greenhouses of Forest Quebec where current production could reach 2.5 million plants per year.

Briefly, the genetic improvement of poplars is usually carried out in the following steps (Périnet, 1999) :

  • seedlings are obtained by controlled cross-breeding\croisements dirigés;
  • tests of descendances are established;
  • superior individuals are selected;
  • promising trees multiplied by propagation by cuttings;
  • first evaluation of early clonal tests (maximum 5 years);
  • and for the final evaluation, the strongest clones are regrouped in clonal tests established on numerous sites, in differents ecological regions

 

Field Trials

Over the last 30 years, more than 3,700 clones have been evaluated in Quebec. The wood produced in tree plantations has been more uniform and has contained much less rotten wood while the wood density in the hybrid poplar plantations seem ideal for the production of oriented strandboard (osb). Annual growth from 1 m to 1.8 m in height and 1.0 to 2.5 cm in diametre are common depending on the region, the quality of the soil and the intensity of the cultivation (Vallée et al., 1997). On average, the poplar hybrid yields are from 8 to 12 m³\ha\yr (160 to 240 m³\ha in merchantable volume over 20 years) (Périnet, 1999). On the most fertile sites, situated in the more southern regions of the province, the growth could reach 12 to 15 m³\ha\yr (240 to 300 m³\ha over 20 years). In the best regions, and under exceptional growth conditions, the yield could reach 20 m³\ha\yr (300 m³\ha over 15 years) following strict silviculture guidelines (Pierre Périnet, personal communication). The rotation of poplar hybrid plantations is two to three times less than the rotations observed in natural poplar stands. The cultivation of hybrid poplars would seem a viable choice within the context of diverse zones of forest use while increasing the yield from Quebec forests (Périnet, 1999).

Other very promising hybrids are being considered by the DFR and continue to be tested in plantations to better understand the limitations of the clones, particularly in ecological regions 4 and 5. Numerous other aspects relative to the genetic improvement of poplars are being studied including phytopathology and molecular genetics. In effect, the poplar, as a result of its characterisics and the size of its genome, is a model tree for studies in molecular genetics. Due to the genetic material currently available to the DFR, future prospects look good for the continuation of studies in genetic improvement of hybrid poplars. (Périnet, 1999).

 

Researchers and Innovative and Dynamic Forest Companies in Quebec

For a number of years the DFR has collaborated with numerous users of the forest resource, the forest companies who plant thousands of hybrid poplars each year. The table below presents the principal forest companies using hybrid poplars as well as the land area planted annually.

Company
Since
Approximate land area planted annually (in 2002)

Domtar (Windsor)

1998

600 ha

Smurfit-Stone (Fort-Coulonge)

1998

20 ha

Fraser (Outaouais)

 

200 ha (goal)

Norampac (Cabano)

1996

50 ha

Norbord 1990

1990

5 to 10 ha

Tembec (Abitibi)

 

20 to 30 ha

Tembec-Malette (Mauricie)

1999

50 to 100 ha

Louisiana-Pacific (Chambord)

1997

300 ha

This list exludes land areas within private forests which have been reforested. A couple of demonstration forests established in 2002 in the Gaspé region by Tembec could also be added to the list.

In 1998 the production of hybrid poplar seedlings in Quebec numbered 200,000. In 1999 and 2000 500,000 plants were produced in Quebec greenhouses, whereas in 2001 and 2002 the production reached 1.5 million plants (Note : in 2002 the demand for hybrid poplar plants was 2 million but the Direction of seedling and plant production (DSPP) could not meet this demand due to budget cuts). Finally, in 2003, even though demand may be greater, 2.5 million hybrid poplar plants will be produced.

Lire en français Fr

backBack to Ligniculture in Quebec

La populiculture

Le programme d’amélioration génétique du peuplier a débuté au Québec en 1969, il y a plus de 30 ans. Ce programme a été initié par M. Gilles Vallée, du service de l’amélioration des arbres au ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources du Québec. Au début, le projet portait sur l’introduction d’espèces et d’hybrides obtenus de l’étranger ainsi que la sélection locale d’arbres ou d’hybrides naturels. Les recherches consistent en des tests de comparaison de provenances, de descendances et de clones qui sont réalisés dans diverses stations situées principalement à travers le Québec méridional. Le but des tests est de trouver des clones et des lignées de peupliers à croissance rapide ayant une certaine résistance aux principaux agents pathogènes et entomologiques et qui sont adaptés aux différentes conditions écologiques du Québec (Vallée, 1985).

Par la suite, les premiers programmes d’hybridation ont rapidement produit du matériel amélioré plus performant et surtout mieux adapté aux conditions locales. Depuis leurs débuts, les programmes se sont beaucoup développés et ils couvrent maintenant de multiples aspects de la culture des peupliers. Le peuplier est facile à hybrider et se prête particulièrement bien à la multiplication par bouturage, ce qui en fait l’essence forestière idéale pour l’amélioration génétique, la foresterie clonale, la génétique moléculaire et la biotechnologie (Périnet, 1999).

Au Québec, le peuplier est maintenant une essence valorisée par l’industrie et elle représente une nouvelle source d’approvisionnement importante. En effet, l’industrie forestière utilise de plus en plus les bois de peuplier dans la fabrication des pâtes et papiers, des panneaux de particules, des poutres lamellées, des contre-plaqués et des sciages destinés à des utilisations multiples. Ainsi, les peuplements de peuplier sont de plus en plus utilisés et il est fort probable que, dans un proche avenir, l’industrie les utilisera davantage. De ce fait, les produits tirés des plantations de peuplier hybride compléteront la production des peupleraies naturelles (Vallée et al., 1997).

Le programme d’amélioration génétique du peuplier est maintenant conduit par une équipe de la Direction de la recherche forestière (DRF) de Forêt Québec. Ce programme a produit des populations améliorées à partir de cinq principales espèces parentales :

  • Populus balsamifera
  • P. deltoides
  • P. maximowiczii
  • P. nigra
  • P. trichocarpa

Les chercheurs de la DRF ont implanté au fil des ans un important réseau de plantations expérimentales. Ces plantations sont dispersées dans plusieurs sous-régions écologiques à travers le Québec. À ce jour, la DRF a produit un nombre élevé de clones de peuplier hybride qui sont recommandés pour plus de 40 sous-régions écologiques du Québec. Ainsi, la liste des clones recommandés comprend 44 clones disponibles; ces clones couvrent les domaines bioclimatiques 1 à 5, de l’érablière jusqu’à la sapinière à bouleau blanc (Périnet et al. 2001). Ces clones sont maintenant multipliés en grand nombre dans les pépinières de Forêt Québec; la capacité de production actuelle peut atteindre 2,5 millions de plants par année.

En bref, l’amélioration génétique des peupliers se fait habituellement selon ces étapes (Périnet, 1999) :

  • des semis sont obtenus par croisements dirigés;
  • établissement des tests de descendances;
  • sélection des individus supérieurs;
  • multiplication des arbres prometteurs par bouturage;
  • 1ère évaluation dans des tests clonaux précoces (maximum 5 ans);
  • les clones les plus performants sont regroupés dans des tests clonaux établis sur plusieurs sites, dans différentes régions écologiques, pour leur évaluation finale.

Des essais probants au terrain

Au cours des 30 dernières années, plus de 3 700 clones ont été évalués dans tout le Québec. Le bois produit en plantation s’est avéré plus uniforme et contient beaucoup moins de pourriture tandis que les densités de bois observées dans les plantations de peuplier hybride en font l’essence idéale pour la fabrication des panneaux à lamelles orientées (OSB). Des pousses annuelles de 1,0 m à 1,80 m en hauteur et de 1,0 à 2,5 cm en diamètre sont fréquentes selon la région, la qualité des sols et l’intensité de culture (Vallée et al., 1997). En moyenne, les rendements des plantations de peuplier hybride escomptés sont de 8 à 12 m³/ha/an (soit 160 à 240 m³/ha en volume marchand à 20 ans) (Périnet, 1999). Sur les sites plus fertiles, situés plus au sud de la province, les accroissements pourront atteindre les 12 à 15 m³/ha/an (240 à 300 m³/ha à 20 ans). Sur les meilleures stations, et dans des conditions de culture exceptionnelles, les rendements peuvent atteindre 20 m³/ha/an (300 m³/ha à 15 ans) si l’on respecte les exigences sylvicoles (Pierre Périnet, communication personnelle). L’âge de rotation des plantations de peuplier hybride est ainsi de deux à trois fois inférieure à l’âge des rotations observées dans les peupleraies naturelles. Ainsi, dans le contexte du rendement accru des forêts du Québec, la culture du peuplier hybride cadre bien avec l’idée du zonage du territoire forestier (Périnet, 1999).

D’autres hybrides très prometteurs sont à l’étude à la DRF et celle-ci continue d’installer d’autres tests en plantation pour mieux connaître les limites d’utilisation des clones, particulièrement dans les régions écologiques 4 et 5. Plusieurs autres aspects relatifs à l’amélioration des peupliers feront l’objet de travaux de recherche importants, dont la phytopathologie et la génétique moléculaire. En effet, le peuplier, de par ses caractéristiques et la taille de son génome, est en voie de devenir un arbre modèle pour la génétique moléculaire. Enfin, le matériel disponible à la DRF fait qu’il y a de très bonnes perspectives d’avenir pour la continuité du programme d’amélioration du peuplier hybride (Périnet, 1999).

Des chercheurs et des utilisateurs dynamiques et novateurs au Québec

Depuis plusieurs années, la DRF collabore avec plusieurs utilisateurs de cette ressource, c’est-à-dire des partenaires industriels qui mettent en terre plusieurs milliers de peupliers hybrides chaque année. Le tableau suivant présente les principaux utilisateurs de peupliers hybrides ainsi que les superficies plantées annuellement.

Utilisateur
Depuis
Superficie approximative plantée annuellement (en 2002)

Domtar (Windsor)

1998

600 ha

Smurfit-Stone (Fort-Coulonge)

1998

20 ha

Fraser (Outaouais)

 

200 ha (objectif)

Norampac (Cabano)

1996

50 ha

Norbord 1990

1990

5 à 10 ha

Tembec (Abitibi)

 

20 à 30 ha

Tembec-Malette (Mauricie)

1999

50 à 100 ha

Louisiana-Pacific (Chambord)

1997

300 ha

De plus, cette liste exclue les superficies qui ont été reboisées en forêt privée. Enfin, on peut ajouter à cette liste un nouvel utilisateur : en 2002, deux plantations de démonstration seront installées chez Tembec, en Gaspésie.

Ainsi, en 1998, la production de plants de peuplier hybride au Québec atteignait 200 000 plants. En 1999 et 2000, c’est 500 000 plants qui ont été produits par les pépinières québécoises, tandis qu’en 2001 et 2002, la production a atteint 1,5 million de plants (note : en 2002, la demande de plants de peuplier hybride était de 2 millions de plants mais la Direction de la production des semences et des plants (DPSP) n’a pu atteindre cette production en raison de coupures budgétaires). Finalement, en 2003, la production sera de 2,5 millions de plants, et ce, même si la demande est encore plus élevée.

Read un english GB

RetourLa ligniculture au Québec